RSS Feed

Can A/W 2016 Trends “do” Vintage?

Can A/W 2016 Trends “do” Vintage?

Hello and a big welcome to Gloriously Vintage. I hope you will enjoy a quick round up of the A/W 2016 Fashion Trends and start thinking about how they could work with your wardrobe.

 

 

 

I love to wear vintage style and always mix in a few new pieces as well. My favourite Era is the 1950’s and I love influences from the 1930’s and early 1960’s too.  Looking at the seasonal fashion trends is a big part of my interest in styling outfits and it always exerts some influence on my wardrobe  – even if the influence is very small.  That is the freedom of wearing vintage style – you are outside or above high fashion – but a “nod” to it adds piquancy to wardrobe choices.

 

Twice a year I do “The Big Seasonal Changeover” – S/S and A/W. Around that time I check out the fashion trends and have a long look at my wardrobe, accessories, and jewellery and shoes to see which trends will suit me and what I have in my wardrobe.  This enables me to ring the changes a little and enjoy a “nod” to what fashionistas are doing!

 

So where do I find the A/W 2016 trends?

Well dear Reader, I make sure I have bought the August copies of Vogue and Harper’s Bazaar and then certainly buy the copies of the key month of September. Fashion Magazines are always a month ahead.  The previews in the August issue acts as a taster for the full reveal in the big September issue.

I have been following this pattern for some years now and find it to work well and be fun at the same time.

If I am searching out a few new pieces for my wardrobe on Oxfam on line for example I may as well choose current colours or shapes that will fit in beautifully and allow me to be creative.  Also when I am in charity shops or at vintage fairs I have a clear idea of what I am looking for.  If none of the trends suit me – well dear Reader I just happily do my own thing and rejoice in my individuality!

 

I have two maxims about style:

Nothing is smart unless it suits

And

Always dress up because others will wish they had!

The first maxim is essential and came from my Grandmother who was a professional dressmaker. The second one came from a style book years ago.  It has stood me in good stead over my life and has helped to increase my confidence to dress how I want to and enjoy it immensely.

 

So dear Reader here is a quick round up of the A/W2016 Trends. I have specified which publication they are from as the two magazines have highlighted some different trends this season.  Sometimes there is a great overlap in what they present as you would expect.  However this year it is a little different because the trends have been interpreted differently.

TRENDS (Vogue)

Mini Trends

  1. Winter sandals
  2. Long gloves for evening
  3. Heavy metal handbags
  4. Shearing – worn curly side out
  5. Red boots, shoes and handbag- pop of scarlet
  6. White 1980’s style shoes
  7. Adorned sweaters
  8. Buttons down the back – reversing tops and jackets
  9. Statement belt
  10. Matchy matchy accessories

TRENDS (Vogue)

  1. Modern British – heritage tweed and clashing tartans
  2. Silk – Boudoir dressing continues from S/S 16
  3. Mood indigo – Denim
  4. Velvet
  5. Coat check – leather and Vinyl and THE CAPE
  6. Duvet coats and jackets
  7. Shearling
  8. Military
  9. Boots
  10. Glasses with embellished frames

THE 7 BIG TRENDS (Vogue)

  1. Extremely large totes
  2. Soft military
  3. Polished Punk – a strong 1980’s influence here
  4. Tweed Redux – mixing heirloom tweeds and prince of Wales checks with stylist separates or just add white accessories
  5. Tweed with Vinyl
  6. Badass Florals – clashing prints
  7. Chokers
  8. Embellished velvet and rich brocade.

TRENDS (HARPER’S BAZAAR)

10 LIKES NOW

  1. Shoulder barring top – this trend caries on from S/S 16
  2. The cape
  3. Heritage handbag – either top handle or chain handle
  4. the roll neck sweater
  5. Hiking boots – chunky boots
  6. Corset belt – worn over a winter coat to cinch the waist
  7. Re-worked trench – leather
  8. Oversize trousers
  9. Velvet puffa coat both luxe and street style
  10. Ski Pants

TRENDS (HARPER’S BAZAAR)

  1. Scotland the Brave – tartans and tweeds
  2. Victorian Luxe – black lace, ruffles and pearls
  3. Great outdoors – classic autumn colours
  4. Rich velvet
  5. Contrasting prints
  6. The nomad – free spirit with inspiration from around the world.
  7. Embellishment
  8. Brocade

TRENDS (HARPER’S BAZAAR)

10 LIKES NOW

  1. Shoulder barring top – this trend caries on from S/S 16
  2. The cape
  3. Heritage handbag – either top handle or chain handle
  4. the roll neck sweater
  5. Hiking boots – chunky boots
  6. Corset belt – worn over a winter coat to cinch the waist
  7. Re-worked trench – leather
  8. Oversize trousers
  9. Velvet puffa coat both luxe and street style
  10. Ski Pants

 

TRENDS (HARPER’S BAZAAR)

  1. Scotland the brave – tartans and tweeds
  2. Victorian Luxe – black lace, ruffles and pearls
  3. Great outdoors – classic autumn colours
  4. Rich velvet
  5. Contrasting prints
  6. The nomad – free spirit with inspiration from around the world.
  7. Embellishment
  8. Brocade

 

Style Guide A/W TRENDS (HARPER’S BAZAAR)

TAILORING

  1. Monochrome chick
  2. Long and loose trouser suits – double breasted with exaggerated slouch
  3. Evening Detail – shoes adorned with jewels
  4. New waist the paper bag waist.
  5. The Ageless icon – jacket with extended lapels over a pleated silk corset = Timeless glamour
  6. Cinched and Sleek – wide belts
  7. Modern and playful
  8. Cape – The investment piece this year
  9. Embellishment – The finishing touch
  10. Pearl adorned Trousers for evening

 

ACCESSORIES (HARPER’S BAZAAR)

  1. Heart’s Desire – Pinks, golds, rosebuds and diamonds
  2. Forbidden forest – dark jewel colours- teal, emerald , black velvet embellishes bags
  3. Folktale
  4. Moonlight magic – black velvet with night stars embellishment

 

Sumptuous jewel colours and all shades of pink into lavender are the strong colour influences this season.

 

 

Here are the trends. Can they “do” vintage?

If you take a very purist view that vintage is separate completely, then the answer to this question must be a resounding “NO!”

I think there are certain trends here that can do vintage. The companies producing reproduction vintage fashions do produce collections for each season and therefore must take their influences from somewhere.  If like me you are putting your look together from vintage, vintage appropriate and new pieces the trends are open to interpretation.

 

What will I be following this A/W2016?

I will be looking at shades of pink, from blush and nude to deeper tones, to work them into my wardrobe. Rich berry tones are always wonderful as the autumn unfolds.

The jewel colours offer a lot of scope with jewellery and accessories.  I will also be trying to work in some lavender as well.  Dear Reader I will be using my Style Book to see what worked last year and it will help me to tweak some outfits to give them the “on trend twist” that is both fun to do and a bit of a challenge!

SCOTLAND THE BRAVE/TWEED

I love British Heritage fabrics checks and tweed and Scottish influenced plaids so these will feature greatly in my choices. The pieces I own will come out really on trend.  Tweeds are so versatile depending on what they are paired with.

This trend can certainly “do” vintage and look good whatever eras you prefer. Mixing tweed and plain fabrics always works and I may add nude courts instead of darker coloured shoes too.

VELVET

I plan to work this trend into my wardrobe with evening bags and separates.

I have my eye on a number of items on the internet and have some velvet items I would like to rework with my dressmaker.

A black devore full skirt I have will come into its own this year for the Christmas season.

THE CAPE

I do not own a cape currently, but have some large wraps that ore flowing like a cape. They go over a suit or jacket and skirt adding warmth and a bit of drama to the finished look.  The silhouette is the important shape here.  Also dear reader wraps bridge the gap before really warm coats are needed as the season progresses.

SHEARLING

My heart is always glad when this is on trend as have two wonderful coats – both with the curly side out as luck would have it.

EMBELLISHMENT

Dear Reader, do check out this post from earlier this year to see how you can create your own embellishment with vintage brooches. I will be looking at ways to embellish outfits this way.  Grouping brooches is the way to add flair to many different outfits.  It is possible to emphasis eth waist, they can go on pockets and on sleeves – you can be really creative here.

 

BROCADE

A fabric that is more for the evening, but one that brings immediate glamour and luxury to your outfit.

 

765

I will be wearing this jacket as my “nod” to this trend. I wore it at Christmas last year and also for my 60th Birthday Party in February.  Brocade is quite difficult because you do not want to look as though you are decked out in upholstery fabric or curtains!  (It was OK for Scarlet O’Hara, and the Von Trapp Children!)

Mini TRENDS can “do” Vintage too!

Handbags

Handbags with a top handle or chain handle are the bags to have this A/W2016. These can certainly be found in the vintage bags of the 50’s, 60’s and 70’s.  They can be worked into vintage style outfits easily.  I have a Laura Ashley handbag with a chain strap that I am thinking of bringing out this season.

 

Matchy Matchy Accessories

Dear Reader, I am so delighted about this mini trend because I have loved matching accessories since I was a teenager. There is nothing quite like them to really pull together the look of matching shoes and handbag.

Yes, dear Reader, I do miss-matched very happily as it enables me to use bags that it would be impossible to match the shoes.

If the handbag and shoes do not actually match – I make sure the colours are very close. Browns can vary a lot and I often get round this by wearing black shoes with a tan or brown handbag to avoid a really glaring mismatch.

Red Shoes and Handbags

This is a favourite combination that I love t wear. My personal choice is to wear them with grey, but I do pair them with blue and black too.  Reds can be very tricky to match.  What do you think? I go to where the natural light is best in my home and have a good look at the tones!

They always give a lovely shot of colour and there is something about red shoes … The Dorothy effect, I think!

 

Jewellery

HB features jewellery each season which I find interesting and helpful. I will be bringing into my outfits rich jewel colours – emerald, sapphire blue, ruby red and rich berry tones with gold.  These are lovely autumn hues that bring luxurious colour in to an outfit.

Silk

I will be working this mini trend with silk scarves and silky camisoles worn under tailored jackets. The boudoir dressing wit chemises dresses from the S/S is continuing into the autumn.

Pearls

Of course, dear Reader, I could never ignore the trend for pearls – I will be choosing pearl brooches to embellish bags and jackets and wearing pearls as much as possible.

Pearl embellishment is very to the fore this season.   I will be sporting pearls at every opportunity and feeling very happy in them.  Will you wear pearls this A/W?

 

Well I hope dear Reader you have enjoyed this quick round up and can get on with planning marvellous outfits for the coming A/W2016 season

 

I will cover beauty trends on another post soon. Certainly this post has helped me to feel rather excited about A/W2016.  Yes dear reader it is sad to say goodbye to lovely summery outfits.  However, it will be fun to wear vintage and be able to “nod to high fashion too!

 

There is very little faux fur this year. I do wear Vintage fur and faux fur collars and also leopard print is not prevalent at all. I will still wear leopard print with red and black and taupe, because I like it.  I also think of Marilyn, Monroe in “Gentlemen Prefer Blonds” and Wendy Hiller in “I know where I’m going”- 2 of my all time favourite films.  How about you dear Reader? 

Do share your thoughts in the comments!

 

 

A big thank you to Glenn for taking the photographs.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Gloriously Vintage

My name is Elizabeth. I am so thrilled to be learning how to write a blog about my adventures collecting vintage treasures. This new adventure is to mark my 60th Birthday this February in 2016 and to start this decade with something new. I have been collecting Powder compacts, 1950's costume jewellery, vintage handbags, silk scarves, vintage umbrellas and hats for over five years now. I try to wear and use as much of my collections as possible. This has added great enjoyment to my life! As a child my "best game " was always dressing up. I kept all my dressing up clothes in a large wooden banded trunk in the spare bedroom -the third bedroom. Creating outfits and characters, wearing jewellery always with a handbag and a powder compact I would play on my own for hours. Most of my treasures then came from jumble sales and bric a brac shops browsed with my parents on holiday. Life has a way of coming round full circle. In my fifties I found increasing joy in being able to just be myself and adopt the hairstyle I wanted and the vintage look that suited me. I source all my "top clothes" from Oxfam on line and charity shops Mixing new tops, shoes and sometimes handbags with my vintage accessories has given me a signature style that is unique. I have always tried to be an individual and not follow the crowd. I find most of my collections at vintage fairs, charity shops and going to Antiques for Everyone at the NEC has been a marvellous time for hunting out treasures and learning more about the things that have sparked real passion for me.

6 responses »

  1. Sensational post, dear Elizabeth – and may I just say, you look so elegantly beautiful in your brocade jacket.

    Like many in the vintage fashion realm, I’m not a slave to trends, but I do very much enjoy it when “of the moment” styles lend themselves naturally to my yesteryear aesthetic. In that regard, I’m especially happy that brocade, velvet and shades of burgundy/maroon are having a moment again this fall. I wear each of those year in and year out and the prospect of being able to add some new pieces in these materials and colours to my closet is very appealing.

    Wishing you a splendid tail end of summer + start of layered clothing season (aka, fall time :)),
    ♥ Jessica

    Like

    Reply
    • Dear Jessica, Thank you for your comment on this post and your kind word about my jacket. I bought it from Oxfam and it is a great favourite.

      I agree that this year’s trends will probably bring some vintage appropriate pieces into the shops. These rich fabrics and colours are going to be beautiful to style and such a contrast to the light tones of high summer.

      September is dashing by and autumn is nearly here!
      best wishes and big hugs, Elizabeth xx

      Like

      Reply
  2. Dear Elizabeth, I so enjoyed this post…will be re-reading it…I like reading what is in but don’t really follow trends. I thought I saw statement fur was a trend like a pink fur coat…leopard print and hats with veils too. To me, leopard is always in style 🙂 I adore red shoes! Happy to see pearls and evening gloves made the list also.

    Hope you have a lovely start to September!

    Best wishes,
    Dee

    Like

    Reply
    • Dear Dee, thank you for your comment on this post. I am delighted you enjoyed it. I agree with you that leopard print is very stylish for A/W. How lovely to find we both love red shoes! I will start wearing mine soon – the outfits they go with are more A/W so am getting ready for the next seasonal changeover. Hope you have a great start to September too! Best wishes, Elizabeth xx

      Like

      Reply
  3. I never really follow trends but this was an interesting read. I stopped reading all fashion magazines about 3 years ago but Im obviously still influenced by trends I see around. I guess my bright blue hair is a trend. I have also been looking at more 80s stuff recently and thats a trend now. Great post

    retro rover

    Like

    Reply
    • Dear Kate, Thank you for your comment. I think we are influenced in part by trends, and it is interesting to look at specific ones. 1980’s are a real influence this A/W especially with the shoes from what I have seen in the magazines. This is why I love vintage style so much – the mix of era’s with clothes, accessories and make up offers so much choice and ways to be creative. thank you for your encouragement! best Wishes, Elizabeth xx

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

