RSS Feed

Summer Styling – Coral, Cream and Turquoise

Summer Styling – Coral, Cream and Turquoise

Whew!  We have had the hottest day, well over 32C, in July ever in the UK in the last week.  Summer has finally got going.  The temperatures have dropped back to more comfortable levels this weekend, 25C, which has been great.  Hello , dear Reader, I hope you are having a good Summer.

 

Welcome today to this post on Summer Styling – Coral , Cream and Turquoise.  It has been a wonderful weekend with great treasure hunting at Antiques for Everyone at the NEC.  It was a very exciting day.  I will be posting about the treasures next week but wanted to share the outfit I wore last Saturday.

 

011

Wearing my scarf in the “Elizabeth Drape”!

I am really thrilled with this outfit because I have created a new pairing and it has worked well and received many compliments at Antiques for Everyone!

 

013 - Copy - Copy

I started the styling for Saturday with the scarf.  This is a graphic print, large whisper fine silk scarf from Accessorize.  I call it my “Anniversary Scarf” because Glenn bought it for me in Stratford upon Avon last year for our 14th Wedding Anniversary.  The scarf has many lovely colours including coral, cream and turquoise.

 

043 - Copy (3)

 

I wore it last summer with my taupe skirt and a cream jumper to highlight the lovely colours in the scarf.  Cream or jade peep toe shoes which made the greens pop out in the scarf worked well.  The turquoise jewellery “set” complimented the colours too – so that was the outfit I recorded in my Style Book that took me to a number of events last year.  It is one of my favourites from my S/S collection.

 

bag evening

 

This is the beautiful scarf that adorned my handbag for the Summer Family Wedding I attended almost a year ago in August 2015.

The main problem I had with my styling was the shoes I usually wore are not for walking any distance in!  So I had the scarf and the turquoise jewellery set planned for Saturday.

A decision had to be made about a skirt.

 

The handbag needed to be a framed one, not a clutch, which would be easier to carry round all the wonderful exhibits on show.

 

Turquoise and gold bracelet

 

The next problem was the Celtic knot bracelet which is brass, needed cleaning and I did not have time to clean it for Saturday as last week was very busy and hot!  I usually clean it with a lemon juice and salt paste, gently rinsed off and polished with a soft cotton cloth – which brings the brass up to a shine!

 

018

 

I decided to wear one of my recent treasures, a lovely Trifari bracelet with textured leaves that went with the textured gold on the brooch.

 

The coral skirt has finer pleats than some of my S/S skirts and is Glenn’s favourite, so I decided to pair the scarf with it.  The cream V-neck top will take a brooch and matches the cream handbag.  To walk around the Antiques Fair I wore cream flats but put on some heels for these photographs!

You are seeing the “Emie” pink court shoes a lot this summer.  When I bought them I did not expect them to go with so many combinations.  They have proved to be a versatile colour that I am often wearing instead of cream to go with the handbag featured in this outfit.

 

015

The glass stones on the brooch are called “baby teeth” as the

shape does resemble baby’s teeth!

This brooch can be converted into a pendant.  Do you wear turquoise?  It is a colour that always makes me feel happy and uplifted and puts a spring in my step!

 

016

The turquoise earings were bought with the brooch from Sutton Vintage and Arts Fair.  I usually wear them together.

 

013

 

Outfit Details

 

“Emie” Pointed Court Shoes   Dorothy Perkins

Viyella Pleated Skirt   Charity Shop

V-Necked Top   Marks and Spencers

Cream 1950’s Framed Handbag   Sutton Vintage and Arts Fair

Large Graphic Printed Silk Scarf   Accessorize

Turquoise Brooch

2 rows of Lotus Pearls

Turquoise Clip Earings

Trifari Bracelet

Napier Twist Pearl Bracelet

Ted Baker Sunglasses

 

 

013 - Copy

 

Lipstick  Blend

 

Bobbi Brown Lip Pencil in Red + Revlon Red + Bourjois 10 Rouge Buzz + Revlon HD Lipstick in Poppy

I wanted a warm coral lip that was redder than pure coral to go with this outfit.  When blending I check the tone as I blot the application, then go on layering until the shade I want is achieved.  This warm coral stayed on well during the afternoon.

 

Have you found a good coral lipstick?

 

A favourite is “Kiss Me Coral ” by Revlon which is sadly discontinued.  I have a little of mine left and use it sparingly!

 

 

 

I am having great fun preparing my next post on Gloriously Vintage regarding the wonderful Treasures found last Saturday and about the Exhibitors who are so interesting to visit.  There is always something to learn.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

Thank you for visiting Gloriously Vintage today.  Do chat in the comments and have a look at my new Books Page.  It is possible to leave a comment there too!  I am so looking forward to the next post – as I found a truly wonderful brooch!

 

A big thank you to Glenn for taking the photgraphs.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Gloriously Vintage

My name is Elizabeth. I am so thrilled to be learning how to write a blog about my adventures collecting vintage treasures. This new adventure is to mark my 60th Birthday this February in 2016 and to start this decade with something new. I have been collecting Powder compacts, 1950's costume jewellery, vintage handbags, silk scarves, vintage umbrellas and hats for over five years now. I try to wear and use as much of my collections as possible. This has added great enjoyment to my life! As a child my "best game " was always dressing up. I kept all my dressing up clothes in a large wooden banded trunk in the spare bedroom -the third bedroom. Creating outfits and characters, wearing jewellery always with a handbag and a powder compact I would play on my own for hours. Most of my treasures then came from jumble sales and bric a brac shops browsed with my parents on holiday. Life has a way of coming round full circle. In my fifties I found increasing joy in being able to just be myself and adopt the hairstyle I wanted and the vintage look that suited me. I source all my "top clothes" from Oxfam on line and charity shops Mixing new tops, shoes and sometimes handbags with my vintage accessories has given me a signature style that is unique. I have always tried to be an individual and not follow the crowd. I find most of my collections at vintage fairs, charity shops and going to Antiques for Everyone at the NEC has been a marvellous time for hunting out treasures and learning more about the things that have sparked real passion for me.

12 responses »

  1. Pingback: Make a Jacket Part of Your Signature Look | Gloriously Vintage

  2. Pingback: Treasures to Treasure – Always | Gloriously Vintage

  3. Absolutely lovely outfit! Coral is radiant on you, dear Elizabeth. It’s a colour that I really, really like as well (as does my husband). I wore a fair bit of it my teens, so I often associate it with that time in my life – especially my 15th and 16th summers.

    I find coral makeup (excluding nail polish) to be a lot trickier with my colouring though, especially since I have pink tones in my skin. To date I’ve not hit upon many winners on the coral lippy front, but one exception to that statement is the shade “Made with Love” from MAC. I’ve heard that it’s discontinued now (though cannot attest to such for sure yet), so I may be back to the drawing board when my current tube runs out. Oh well, it’s fun to have some real makeup challenges like that. 🙂

    Many hugs & happy start of August wishes,
    ♥ Jessica

    Like

    Reply
    • Dear jessica, Thank you for your comment on this post. Coral is a lovely colour, especially for the summer. I think it is really great that it connects you to a particuar time in your life!
      I agree with you about coral make up. Trying to find the right shade or tone actually lead me to start blending lipsticks. There is a range of brightness in coral lipstick that be too much – so my solution is to add the red over usually and always come out the red side of the colour! I am sure you will find a marvellous lipstick when you are ready. It is however very frustratng when colours are discontinued. I read that Dita von Teese keeps lipsticks in her freezer. This enables her to buy supplies of favourites! It is not something I have tried!
      I am hoping August will stay bright. Here in the UK it has not been as sunny as i would have hoped. Thereis time to improve . Big hugs to you and i do hope August is a lovely month for you. Elizabeth xx

      Like

      Reply
  4. Hi Elizabeht!,

    Very nice combination of colours, coral suits you so well.
    And the scarf adds that very personal touch that no one have in the fair you attended (correct me if I´m wrong).
    The pink shoes are beautiful as well, at the begining I though they were cream, but the colour pink with the scarf´s colours matches pretty well.

    Thanks for the tric about the lemon juice to clean your jewelery. My grandmother used to clean hers with a mix of vinegar, water and salt. Maybe lemon is much better as it isn´t as strong as vinegar.

    Have a great end of July and first week of August!

    (P.S.: I´ll flying to Dublin to visit friends and later to Spain to attend a wedding).

    Eva (from Luxembourg/Germany)

    Like

    Reply
    • Dear Eva, what a treat to come home today and find your comment! Thank you! I am so pleased with the outfit because all the elements worked well and the colours made me feel so happy. You are right about the scarf! White vinegar and salt would work well too for brass jewellery, but I like to use lemon juice! Have a lovely time on your travels and take care of yourself. Weddings are such a great opportunity to meet family and friends and catch up. Happy times coming to you! Best Wishes, Elizabeth xx

      Like

      Reply
  5. Lovely outfit, Elizabeth! I really like the scarf and I think I spotted a bee in the design too. 🙂 Oh, I LOVE turquoise…that is my favourite colour 🙂 🙂 Coral doesn’t suit my colouring but it really suits you.

    Over the weekend, I was inspired by you to dig out my white purse and white gloves…I like how you style your white shoes, white gloves and white purse for the summer. I do wear white sandals in the summer but usually a different (not white) color purse. It was a picnic by the lake. Still hot and humid. When I was waiting in line for food, I did overhear someone behind me say, ”We don’t wear that in these parts…no, we don’t.” Maybe they were talking about me. The person didn’t sound mean about it…just making a comment. I bet it was the white gloves that stood out. LOL I didn’t wear my gloves too long but I did wear them.

    I also like your idea of having a Style Book. Sometimes I will write down my outfit for special occasions in my daily planner. I never thought of having a separate book just for outfits. I am going to trying this, thank you for the idea. I hope this way I will wear all my stuff and toss what doesn’t suit me.

    Best wishes,
    Dee

    Like

    Reply
    • Dear Dee, thank you for your comment on this post. The scarf is super and there is a bee in the design! How lovely that you wore a white handbag, shoes and gloves! For me , it is a combination that shouts “Summer”. I am sure you looked great. Gloves do finish an outfit elegantly and add to the vintage look. They look good carried too.
      The Style Book is a great help and builds up in use the longer you keep it. It is a great idea to use it to see what you want to wear and to sort out what you do not. I hope you get on well with yours. Do let me know how it goes. Best wishes, Elizabeth xx

      Like

      Reply
  6. what a pretty combo

    Like

    Reply
  7. So glad to see this post – you looked WONDERFUL on Saturday! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

