RSS Feed

Trifari Treasures and a Gorgeous Red Hat

Trifari Treasures and a Gorgeous Red Hat

008 (3)

 

Last Sunday dear Reader, we went to the Sutton Vintage and Arts Fair.  It was great fun and I found some vintage treasures to add to my collections.  I hope you have had a great week.  Here in the UK the rain kept off on Sunday and the day was warmer as the wind had dropped.  It was a relief as we have had so much rain last week.  When it rains I have to choose shoes that can take getting wet.

 

My choice of shoes often influences the whole outfit, do you find this too?

 

It is always a nostalgic experience going to this particular vintage fair because I am constantly seeing items that I remember from my childhood that were “new” then and are “vintage “now.

 

I think I could describe myself as gloriously vintage!

 

The treasures found were lovely, especially the Trifari Treasures.  As you know dear Reader, I love Trifari jewellery and collect it.  Finding new pieces is marvellous fun.  If I can find a piece to compliment a “set” that is good.  Occasionally I have found something that matches some pieces in the collection.

I do enjoy this Fair because I go regularly and am getting to know some of the vintage sellers and am always excited to meet new ones.  Parked outside Sutton Town Hall were these fabulous cars from Kiss Rides.

 

007 - Copy

Here is the ultimate in styling – a car to match my outfit!

 

009 - Copy

This mini is so sweet – I was a child when the first minis appeared.

 

010

This made me think of a lovely picnic!  I would take a much bigger hamper!

 

 

The other main attraction last Saturday was the performance of one of my favourite girl groups

 

“The Glamophones”.

 

011 - Copy

 

They sing in the style of the Andrews Sisters and more recently The Puppini Sisters and I just love to watch them perform.

Live music is wonderful as it surrounds and involves you so much.  My feet were tapping and I so wanted to dance!  However British reserve and a lack of space stopped me!  It is my desire to have a party where the Glamophones entertain us.  A dream I want to make come true in this 60th decade.

There was a chance to buy a CD with some of The Glamophones songs and I bought a calendar of their photographs for the rest of the year.  They signed it for me! I have put it to good use recording my posts on Gloriously Vintage.  There was time between their sets to talk to the girls.

 

015

 

They wore black dresses with white polka dots and black and white petticoats underneath.  The 1940’s-1950’s style was set off with victory rolls in their hair and lovely red lipstick.

It was marvellous.

 

014

 

I went straight to Rob Caldwell to see if he had any Trifari jewellery.  I have bought from him before and have greatly enjoyed the pieces I have.  Sure enough I found two delightful bracelets a brooch and a demi parure I just fell in love with.

 

007

 

The pearl and diamante brooch is an early Trifari possibly from the 1940’s.

When I see the jewellery in my mind’s eye I am working out how to wear each piece and thinking about the collection I have it will add to and what outfits it will go with.  Really this outfit planning is what I love to do.

006

 

This 1930’s bracelet needs some TLC as the safety chain is broken but will match another “set” I have with the same pink stone.

 

002

 

I bought this aqua clutch bag which is 1980’s does 1950’s.

 

001

 

It has a detachable shoulder strap and is a great match with the skirt from Summer Styling.

 

005

 

I will wear this bag with contrasting shoes and also where it can be matched to the colours in a scarf.  Accessories like this give a feature colour or a pop of brightness to a plainer outfit.

 

I could not resist this red handbag.

 

004

 

003

 

I had this bag in taupe leather in the 1980’s and loved the simple shape.  Rounded bags are good because they add softer lines to a tailored suit or jacket.  This is a mix I love to experiment with.  Details like shape, curves, colour and size can make an enormous difference to the finished outfit.

Yes dear Reader, I found a scarf!

 

009 (2)

 

It is silk and I will wear it in the A/W and enjoy the rich tones.

Let me show you the outfit I wore.

 

008 (2)

 

Outfit Details

 

Red Court Shoes   Dorothy Perkins

Red Viyella Pleated Skirt   Charity shop

Cream V Neck jumper   Marks and Spencer

White 1950’s Handbag   Diane Ashman

Silk Square Scarf   Diane Ashman

Gloves   Charity shop

Pearl cuffs    Dorothy Perkins

3 Rows of Lotus Pearls

Red Demi Parure   Chronically Vintage Etsy Shop

 

008 - Copy (2)

 

Lipstick Blend:

Red Bobbi Brown Pencil + Revlon Red+ Dior 999

 

008

 

I love this demi parure from Jessica at the Chronically Vintage Etsy Shop.

It is the first time I have worn this jewellery and I am thrilled the earings were really comfortable and did not pinch!

 

008 - Copy

 

I love to match the shoes to the skirt in the summer particularly, but in the A/W too with grey, navy and black shoes.  Here I have red shoes that are a good match with the skirt.  I have tied the scarf onto the bag with a square knot.  The pearl cuffs extend the short gloves.  These heels are comfortable to walk around in.  Many of my beloved heels are “short walk” shoes!

 

Having seen Jessica on chronically vintage so often wearing amazing hats, I am bringing hats into my outfits more and love the way they pull an outfit together.  I am rather traditional in my style as I love sinamay or straw in the S/S and felt in the A/W.  This comes from many years of wearing a hat everyday as part of my school uniform.  We had large hats with a swept back, upturned brim in brown felt for the winter terms and the same shape in cream straw for the summer term.  These hats were worn on the back of the head and were referred to as “halos” as they produced a halo effect around the face.  They were very flattering and set a pattern of personal preference that has lasted all my life!

 

May I introduce you to the gorgeous red hat?

 

010 (2)

Last Sunday I met Alice Mary Ball the designer and maker of this wonderful hat.  Do look at this link and see her work.  I was tempted to try on some of her hats.  They were mostly tilts and perchers to be worn on the front of the head.

 

012

013 (2)

 

The felt ones were all lovely, but I chose this gorgeous red straw hat because I do not have that many S/S hats.  Yes dear Reader, it is an occasion hat, and I am going to enjoy it creating a number of glamorous outfits!

 

011 (2)

I love the arrow turkey feather!

 

 

 

After a busy week, working hard, it is bliss to go to a Vintage Fair and revel in looking at the many varied items for sale and picking out some new treasures.

 

 

 Thank you for visiting Gloriously Vintage, do chat in the comments about your special finds, I would love to know about them!

 

Photographs taken by Glenn, thank you for all your help with this post.

 

About Gloriously Vintage

My name is Elizabeth. I am so thrilled to be learning how to write a blog about my adventures collecting vintage treasures. This new adventure is to mark my 60th Birthday this February in 2016 and to start this decade with something new. I have been collecting Powder compacts, 1950's costume jewellery, vintage handbags, silk scarves, vintage umbrellas and hats for over five years now. I try to wear and use as much of my collections as possible. This has added great enjoyment to my life! As a child my "best game " was always dressing up. I kept all my dressing up clothes in a large wooden banded trunk in the spare bedroom -the third bedroom. Creating outfits and characters, wearing jewellery always with a handbag and a powder compact I would play on my own for hours. Most of my treasures then came from jumble sales and bric a brac shops browsed with my parents on holiday. Life has a way of coming round full circle. In my fifties I found increasing joy in being able to just be myself and adopt the hairstyle I wanted and the vintage look that suited me. I source all my "top clothes" from Oxfam on line and charity shops Mixing new tops, shoes and sometimes handbags with my vintage accessories has given me a signature style that is unique. I have always tried to be an individual and not follow the crowd. I find most of my collections at vintage fairs, charity shops and going to Antiques for Everyone at the NEC has been a marvellous time for hunting out treasures and learning more about the things that have sparked real passion for me.

12 responses »

  1. Such a magnificent array of new finds! I literally gasped aloud over your enchanting foil opal bracelet. What a dazzlingly stunning piece!

    Thank you ever so much, sweet Elizabeth, for including photos of the beautiful red rhinestone demi-parure that you purchased from my shop, and also to linking to such. I wholeheartedly appreciate it and always delight in seeing how you style your Chronically Vintage purchases.

    Tons of hugs,
    ♥ Jessica

    Like

    Reply
    • Dear Jessica. thank you very much for you comment. The foil opal bracelet is lovely and I am so delighted it goes with a “set” and completes it. It was a lucky find.
      I love my demi parure and will be wearing it again soon. It was such fun that day to encounter the matching car! Tons of hugs back! Elizabeth xx

      Like

      Reply
  2. Hi Elizabeth,

    The hat you found is gorgeous, I´m sure you´ll find a proper Outfit for it.

    I also like the Triffari treasures you found.

    It is nice to see the 2CV matches your Outfit as well. That happened to me once, when I was visiting a friend in London. We went to Harrod´s and I was wearing White and red and it happened there was a Mustang from the 70´s parket not far away and it was red and White. My friend took a Picture of me with the car. Really funny.

    Have a great week,

    Eva (from Luxembourg/Germany)

    Like

    Reply
    • Dear eva, how lovely to find your comment! I am very excited about the gorgeous red hat and am busy workig out an outfit now. Your experience with the matching car sounds a lot of fun! I am so glad you got a photograph. We are experiencing some more warmth here at last, so summer is getting going. everything is easier when the sun is shining! I hope you are keeping well and the summer is getting better for you too. Have a great week and best wishes from the UK, Elizabeth xx

      Like

      Reply
  3. Lovely pic of you next to the red & white car dressed in red & white. Pretty coincidence 🙂 I adore red & white together.

    Never heard of The Glamphones but found their video online. It must have been great to hear and see them in person. Lucky you to get a pic with them too.

    Looking forward to seeing in a future post how you style your red hat 🙂

    Dee

    Like

    Reply
    • Dear Dee, thank you for your comment and kind words about the matching car! The 2CV had a lot of character. Red is one of my favourite colours to wear and I too love red and white together. I am glad you could find the Glamphones video. they have just produced it. I am playing their CD now and am enjoying their harmonies. The red hat will definately feature soon in a futre post! Do you ike to wear hats? Best wishes, Elizabeth xx

      Like

      Reply
      • Yes, I enjoy wearing hats. 🙂 I used to wear them more when I was younger. Recently, I inherited about a dozen or so hats from the 40s to early 60s and that made me want to wear them again. I have a question for you, Elizabeth. When you buy vintage necklaces, do you restring them? I would like to wear them but am afraid of them falling apart. I have some lovely sets with matching earrings.

        Dee

        Like

      • Dear Dee, your hat collection sounds great and I hope you get a lot of pleasure wearing hats more. The answer to your question about vintage necklaces is yes I do if it is one I will wear often. In the UK it costs about £10 per row for re stringing. It depends on the value of the piece too. Most of my pearls have been restrung a number of times because I wear them a lot. If the necklace is too short and is a single row, my jeweller has restrung the necklace and added small plain beads either side of the clasp to achieve the desired length. If the necklace is old and on its original stringing and you want to wear it, get it done. Do not accept restringing that is too tight and alters the way the necklace sits, send it back until it is as you want it to be. This happened to me with a single row of pearls that came right in the end. Why not choose one lovely neckace and explore the restringing so you can wear it with confidence? I have one necklace that needs to be done but the restinging will cost more than the value of the necklace as it is 3 rows! I have not decided to have it done, as I have others I am wearing now. Do let me know how you get on. I hope this helps. Best wishes, Elizabeth xx

        Like

      • Thank you for the help, Elizabeth. I love pearls too! I did not know that bead necklaces (not pearls) need to be restrung so much. How often? Yearly? It makes sense when I think about it. I suppose I think of pearls being in a class all by themselves. 🙂 I admire your pearl collection. I was thinking of trying to restring a necklace myself. Maybe you could do a post some day about about how you store and care for your necklaces.

        Dee

        Like

      • Dear Dee, how lovely to find someone who also loves pearls! They do not need to be done yearly but it depends on how much wear a necklace gets. Pearls are in a class of their own and can be knotted between each pearl which means the whole necklace cannot fall from the string if broken. That technique gives a particular appearance to the string. My guide is to see how the original necklace is presented and go with that. A post about the care of vintage jewellery would be interesting! Thank you for your suggestion. Best wishes, Elizabeth xx

        Like

  4. Your outfit us adorable. I love how it matched the car! The singers are super cute too. The hat is also superb

    Like

    Reply
    • Dear Kate, thank you so much for your comment. Red and cream/white has been a favourite summer combinaton for a long time! The Glamphones are brilliant – I loved their dresses and on their website they have a new music video! I am delighted you liked the hat too. It is going to be great fun to wear! Best wishes, Elizabeth xx

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

