RSS Feed

Stylish to the End – Use it or Loose it!

Stylish to the End – Use it or Loose it!

Welcome dear Reader to Gloriously Vintage today, in the UK it has been wet and cool and now July is here we are ready for summer to warm up, please. 

I am excited to show you one of the things I purchased with my 60th Birthday money.  It is a turn of the century silver topped walking cane.  I bought it from the Antiques Fair at Chateaux Impney from The Ambulist, Christopher Galloway.

The Fair was a wonderful place for treasure hunting and when I saw all the amazing walking sticks this exhibitor had on display my eyes lit up and my heart skipped a beat, so to speak.  Why?  Well, let me explain.

 

042 (2)

The cane can be carried like this.

 

For a number of years I have wanted a silver topped cane to have by me as a trusty companion for the future.  I looked very carefully at all the sticks displayed.  Having discussed the height of a walking stick with Mr Galloway, I picked out this one.  Sometimes when you are shopping the first dress or pair of shoes is the one and it does not matter how many are tried afterwards the first one is THE ONE.

So, having picked it out, I trusted my instinct and eye for quality and tried the cane.  Dear Reader it just felt right.  It was a comfortable height and balance.  I felt very elegant with it and it was comfortable to carry and to walk with.  The price was within my budget, so I invested in it.  Once it was mine I walked around the Fair stopping to look at all manner of lovely items leaning on my cane and feeling so delighted and in harmony with it.  The ferule is steel and for now, will be fine for me.

When I am much older a rubber ferule will probably be safer as it will be less likely to slip in the rain!

 

043

The cane can be leant on, like this.

 

You may think it a little eccentric to be so thrilled with a silver top walking cane!  Well you see it is part of my life plan to enjoy my clothes, personal style and hair and makeup right to the end of life.  And why not?

 

A very large part of making clothes sit well on the body, therefore making an outfit look really wonderful is summed up in one word – Posture.

 

I am sure dear Reader, you have read in magazines advice about standing up straight to look thinner and to enable your figure to look its best.

My cane will enable me to practice good posture when walking, particularly when walking starts to be more of a challenge.  I will take it out now for the sheer enjoyment of having it with me.  I know the time will come when it will be my constant companion.

 

  “Use it or loose it” is a saying that rings true of many things.

 

Skills not used can fall away, forgotten.  As time passes and age gathers momentum it is essential to know what you want to keep and use it so you do not loose it.  The joy of walking is one of those essential skills to keep.

Dear Reader what do you think about the saying “use it or loose it”?

 

One of my maxims for life is:

“Invest in your future”

 

Since my late 30’s and 40’s I have been doing just that with regards to my skin, figure and posture.  The maxim has been such a help as now I am 60 years old I can see the results of the disciplined care I have taken and I am determined to redouble my efforts for the next 30 years ahead.

 

Do you look after yourself?  Would you be able to do a bit more now, so you are investing in your future life?  It only takes a small shift in the everyday things you do to achieve this investment – and it will pay dividends as time goes by.  You are never too young to start.  Generally speaking, we are all expecting to live a lot longer than our three score years and ten!

 

When you are young, thinking about old age seems so far off that it does not get much time or thought or planning.  I woke up to this when I was coming up to 40 and I could observe close hand, the aging process in my parents.  In my 50’s there was an even sharper awakening as they were getting older still.  My mother is aware of the use it or loose it rule for practically everything she does!

At almost 92 years old, she still puts on makeup each day, has her hair done often and takes great interest in her clothes, always looking beautifully turned out.  I have organised her care and support to enable this to happen.  The one area where she “could have done better “is with her posture, working on it sooner to keep it for longer.

You only have to look at HM The Queen to see her remarkable walking, without a stick.  Her ability to stand so well.  I believe she practises The Alexander Technique and has done for many years.

As a child, Nanny lived with us and died when I was 12 years old, in the 1960’s.  She lived to be 79 years old.  She always dressed well, wore suits and costumes, a dress and jacket.  She wore a hat with most of her outfits and gloves too.  With the understanding of a child I knew she was older and wiser than anyone else I knew.  I miss her still.

“Pride commeth before a fall “is so true!  It can also be the biggest reason why people stagger along holding onto furniture and people, practicing terribly bent over posture because their pride stops them using a cane or stick.  I have watched this play out in my mother’s late life and her resistance to a cane or walking stick has contributed to poor posture at the end stage of her life.

So dear Reader, my silver toped cane is a delight to own, shining in my umbrella stand in the hallway.

 

046

The silver top just stood out for me, from all the other great canes on display.

 

I love the engraved pattern too.

It also promises to save me from making my mothers’ mistake – leaving it too late to use a cane and practise good posture for as long as is physically possible.

I went to a small private girl’s school where we were made to walk with our heads up, shoulders back and a straight back.  We were marked on our deportment by watchful members of staff.  Good posture was encouraged at all times as you did not know when these points were being awarded!  I have done my fair share of rebellious slouching, believe me!  However, now more than ever I am remembering these old lessons and bringing them to bear, as I wear my vintage style with great pride and the best posture I can .

 

 

044

Mmm…I love this cane!

 

Outfit Details

 

Emie blush pointed court shoes   Dorothy Perkins

Silver topped cane    bought from The Ambulistat Chateaux impney Antiques Fair

Viyella taupe pleated shirt    Bought at a Dress Agency in 1999

Soft peach top    Kettlewell Colours

Vintage silk square scarf   Bought at Chateaux impney Antiques Fair

1950’s Cream framed handbag   bought at a Vintage Fair

Trifari Pearl and gold bracelet

Napier pearl twist bracelet

2 rows of Lotus pearls

Large pearl studs

 

042 (2) - Copy

 

Lipstick Blend – Bobbi Brown Red + Revlon Red + Bobbi Brown Parisian Red

 

043 - Copy

A closer look at the scarf.

 

Just a quick word about the scarf – it is a first outing for this outfit and the scarf was the basis for all these individual pieces coming together.  The background colour matched the handbag which is actually a bit too cream coloured for the taupe skirt.

 

 

The coral tone in the scarf looked best on the soft peach top having tried it with 3 other cream tops.  The blush court shoes toned as I wanted to wear a closed toe court , rather than the peep toe cream shoes I often wear with that handbag.

 

Dear Reader, it has been great to share with you these thoughts about my new cane and show you another summer outfit brought together by a signature scarf.  If you have any tips on “Investing in your future” or responses to the “use it or loose it” rule, do chat in the comments.

 

Thank you to Glenn for taking the photographs in this post.

About Gloriously Vintage

My name is Elizabeth. I am so thrilled to be learning how to write a blog about my adventures collecting vintage treasures. This new adventure is to mark my 60th Birthday this February in 2016 and to start this decade with something new. I have been collecting Powder compacts, 1950's costume jewellery, vintage handbags, silk scarves, vintage umbrellas and hats for over five years now. I try to wear and use as much of my collections as possible. This has added great enjoyment to my life! As a child my "best game " was always dressing up. I kept all my dressing up clothes in a large wooden banded trunk in the spare bedroom -the third bedroom. Creating outfits and characters, wearing jewellery always with a handbag and a powder compact I would play on my own for hours. Most of my treasures then came from jumble sales and bric a brac shops browsed with my parents on holiday. Life has a way of coming round full circle. In my fifties I found increasing joy in being able to just be myself and adopt the hairstyle I wanted and the vintage look that suited me. I source all my "top clothes" from Oxfam on line and charity shops Mixing new tops, shoes and sometimes handbags with my vintage accessories has given me a signature style that is unique. I have always tried to be an individual and not follow the crowd. I find most of my collections at vintage fairs, charity shops and going to Antiques for Everyone at the NEC has been a marvellous time for hunting out treasures and learning more about the things that have sparked real passion for me.

5 responses »

  1. What a heartwarming, lovely post, dear Elizabeth. I so love it when fellow vintage bloggers share fond family memories (I’ve been a passionate family genealogist for a good chunk of my life now and posts such as this touch on both interests, so speak to me all the more).

    Many hugs & happy mid-July wishes,
    ♥ Jessica

    Like

    Reply
    • Dear Jessica, I am so glad you enjoyed this post. Family stories are intereting because they so often explain why we feel as we do, or have this or that tradition that is still followed. It is so important to collect and keep these memories for the future. I am so thrilled with my cane and am trying hard to stand up straight! Big hugs to you, Elizabeth xx

      Like

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Rock that Signature Scarf | Gloriously Vintage

  3. Elizabeth, you are an inspiration! You just have the best attitude and I love it. My posture is something I am trying to work on at the moment, and the hardest part is to keep remembering to fix it, but I find it makes such a difference to how I look and feel, and I know the long-term benefits will be good too. My grandmother is 84, and one of the most stylish women I know. She has a similar cane that is a family heirloom, and although she doesn’t need it all the time, when her knees play up she gets it out right away!

    Like

    Reply
    • Dear Tanith, It was brilliant to find your comment this morning on my computer! I know that it takes three weeks to establish a new habit. This is something I find helpful when I am focusing on a new tweak to anything I am doing – if I can keep it up for three weeks it will become second nature. It is great to hear you are working on your posture because it will give a great return for all your efforts in the long term. Your grandmother sounds amazing and such a wonderful role model. What a precious heirloom to have in your family and it is so sensible that your grandmother uses it when needed knowing, it is adding to her style! I wish more older people would do likewise and enjoy greater ease when walking and see it as something to extend strength rather than a sign of being older. Best wishes, Elizabeth xx
      PS I love Jessica’s hat inspired by “The Women”. It is beautiful.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

