RSS Feed

Treasure Hunting in Stratford upon Avon

Treasure Hunting in Stratford upon Avon

We have been away for a long weekend in Stratford upon Avon staying at our favourite hotel to celebrate our 15th Wedding Anniversary, which is actually on 5th May.

 

007 - Copy (6) - Copy

So dear Reader, as you would expect there were opportunities for treasure hunting in the charity shops and the antique shops in the town centre.  Stratford is a wonderful place to visit.  It is full of half timbered buildings, historical places and lovely shops.  There are all the big shops you would expect to find in the UK and a lot of small independent ones that are always a joy to explore.

The weekend away is a great opportunity to plan some great outfits and to fit in as much jewellery as possible.  The highlight this year was to wear the Pennino demi parure and an outfit from my S/S clothes with the Schreiner demi parure I had for my birthday this year.

 

arrival

Here I am wearing a red collarless jacket made from 100% wool.  It has jolly gold buttons on the front and also on the cuffs.  The scarf is a modern graphic print silk from Accessorize.  I like to wear it with the Penninio jewellery because the shapes on the pattern echo the shape of the flowers on the brooch.  The red stones in the brooch and the earings are unfoiled and reflect the colour of the jacket, deepening the red colour.  My black 1950’s handbag is leather pressed to look like lizard skin.  I like it with these shoes which are pointed courts from Dorothy Perkins.

 

005 - Copy

In this photograph I am just about to go down to dinner.  You can see the Hobe bracelet that I bought at the same time as the Pennino demi parure.

 

It is one of my traditions that I wear something from my S/S wardrobe on this anniversary weekend to herald the big changeover that I usually affect by the end of May.  My choice of jacket to arrive and depart in had to be changed, as I needed one that was made from wool.  A man made fabric would just not have been warm enough.  I took a lightweight rain coat to wear over my outfits for shopping and I was pleased to have it, as it was showery on both Saturday and Sunday.

 

008

I am ready to go down for breakfast.  What a treat, smoked kippers a really English breakfast!

 

009 - Copy

 

This is the outfit from my previous post on silk scarves.  It is useful as I can change the tops and accessories and just look a bit different.  Here I am wearing a soft peach top from Kettlewell Colours.  The Zara spot scarf is a very good match and I had a new pair of blush pointed courts to complete the outfit.  The gold brooch is unmarked and the round design goes with the scarf well and does not snag the threads.

 

011 - Copy

 

Time for a quick touch up to my makeup, before getting ready to go out into the town.

 

012 - Copy

 

As we get to know each other, dear Reader, you will understand that I never go anywhere without my dressing table!  More about that in future posts…

 

013

 

My husband proposed to me in the Hathaway’s Tearooms in Stratford.  He bought my engagement ring from Howards.  We also bought our Wedding Rings in Stratford, thus making it a most special place in our life together.

 

 

 

So we went on Saturday for a cup of hot chocolate and a toasted teacake!  We could not sit at “our table” but sat nearby and reminisced about the day he proposed and I accepted and had my lovely engagement ring to wear.

 

016

Dressed for dinner on Saturday evening, I am sitting at my dressing table.  Wearing a ruched cream square neck top from Kettlewell colours, my black pencil skirt with the evening pearls set.

 

018

The dear little black and gold evening bag is from the 1930’s.

I always wear it with this outfit.  I purchased it at Antiques for Everyone, from Diane Ashman a few years ago.  When I saw it, I just fell in love with the small shape and the very interesting clasp.

It was a case of have the bag first and an outfit will follow!

020

May I introduce you dear Reader, to my husband, Glenn?

This is the man who takes my photographs.  He is my support and stay.  We are dressed to go out on the town on the Sunday morning.  I have added a large graphic print scarf with mauve and purple in the pattern.  The mauve clutch bag was from a charity shop last year and the purple leather gloves go very well.

On the Sunday and the Bank holiday Monday in Stratford there was a Festival of Motoring event.  We wandered around looking at interesting cars and also did some more shopping and I found some more treasures!

022

 

We went to this amazing tearoom that has been recommended to us by the hotel.  It was cleverly named The Fourteas.  It was a marvellous experience!  Have a look at their photographs – It really felt as though we had gone back in time!

023

When our drinks arrived we were charmed – a spitfire for Glenn and a Union Jack for me!

 

026

This was my outfit for the last evening.  Here I am wearing a pleated skirt from Viyella that I purchased from a dress agency in 1999.  It is a light taupe and the fabric has the appearanceof slub silk.  The neutral colour is perfect with a cream top when wearing coloured jewellery.  The litte red satin bag was from a charity shop last year.  It is modern and is made by Marks and Spencers.  My dressmaker has relined the skirt and repaired it over the years and it just keeps on going!  It was important for me to wear the Schreiner demi parure this weekend.  As the earings and brooch are very showy I deemed 2 rows of pearls were enough!

 

In my next post I will show you the treasures I found on this wonderful weekend away.

 

Thank you for visiting Gloriously Vintage today, do leave me a comment to say hello!  I hope we can catch up soon.

About Gloriously Vintage

My name is Elizabeth. I am so thrilled to be learning how to write a blog about my adventures collecting vintage treasures. This new adventure is to mark my 60th Birthday this February in 2016 and to start this decade with something new. I have been collecting Powder compacts, 1950's costume jewellery, vintage handbags, silk scarves, vintage umbrellas and hats for over five years now. I try to wear and use as much of my collections as possible. This has added great enjoyment to my life! As a child my "best game " was always dressing up. I kept all my dressing up clothes in a large wooden banded trunk in the spare bedroom -the third bedroom. Creating outfits and characters, wearing jewellery always with a handbag and a powder compact I would play on my own for hours. Most of my treasures then came from jumble sales and bric a brac shops browsed with my parents on holiday. Life has a way of coming round full circle. In my fifties I found increasing joy in being able to just be myself and adopt the hairstyle I wanted and the vintage look that suited me. I source all my "top clothes" from Oxfam on line and charity shops Mixing new tops, shoes and sometimes handbags with my vintage accessories has given me a signature style that is unique. I have always tried to be an individual and not follow the crowd. I find most of my collections at vintage fairs, charity shops and going to Antiques for Everyone at the NEC has been a marvellous time for hunting out treasures and learning more about the things that have sparked real passion for me.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Vintage Treasures found In Stratford upon Avon | Gloriously Vintage

  2. Lovely to see you modelling more of your treasured scarves and jewellery. Your blue outfit looks very smart, I’m sure you were the ‘Belle’ at The Fourteas. Wishing you and Glen a very happy 15th year together. xxx

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you so much for your comment! The Fourteas is a great experience and we hope to return for one of their afternoon teas soon. I am getting ready to get out my S/S clothes. This means saying goodbye to my winter toned scarves and getting out more summery coloured ones. This warm weather is so good for us, I do hope it carries on! Best Wishes Elizabeth xx

      Like

      Reply
  3. What a special treat to get to meet your husband and learn more about the earliest days of your life together. With all my heart, I wish you both the happiest of anniversary weeks and countless more years of wedded bliss to come.

    I’m so intrigued to hear more about the fact that you travel with your vanity contents, dear Elizabeth. What a fun teaser about that you’ve given us in the midst of this wonderfully lovely fashion filled post.

    Many hugs & happy weekend wishes,
    ♥ Jessica

    *PS* That may seriously be the coolest, most vintage appropriate coffee art I’ve ever seen.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you so much for your lovely comment, Jessica. We are having a happy time celebrating this anniversary. I am busy writing just now and am taking a leaf out of your book because I am hoping to launch a series of posts soon! Your encouragement helps me so much. Best Wishes, Elizabeth xx

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

