RSS Feed

How to create Jewellery “Sets” that make your clothes look wonderful Part 2

Welcome to Gloriously Vintage!  I would like to show you some of the successful sets of costume jewellery I have made from my collection.  The collection is growing and developing to include some named jewellery.  I love Trifari and will group those pieces sometimes; they also mix well with other items.  I pay attention to colour, texture, size and shape when putting jewellery together to make “sets”.

Whether your vintage look is casual or more dressed up adding jewellery can make all the difference to the finished ensemble.  Have a look at these sets, put together by colour:

Blue

My Blue Set

This very unusual brooch is lovely worn with pearls as an accent.  Here you can see my blue set with each piece coming from a different source.  I wear them together or mix them with plain gold or pearls.

Blue 2

The necklace is glass and is from the 1920’s.  The bracelets are all modern, found in charity shops

This coral and gold demi parure was bought at the NEC a few years ago.  It is part of my summer jewellery as I love to wear coral in the spring and summer months.  You can see the interesting texture on the brooch.  Here I have chosen a couple of complimentary bracelets, the right hand one is a Monet matte gold chain.

pink

This is the pink demi parure ~I wore in the evening at the summer wedding.  It is the first demi parure I bought at a Vintage Fair.  Yes, dear Reader, you have guessed it is also part of my S/S jewellery sets.

Pink with bracelet

Here it is with the pearl and aurora borealis spiral bracelet that go together well.  The pearls in the bracelet link to 2 or 3 rows of pearls and the Napier twist to complete a set that will brighten up a neutral outfit beautifully.

Purple with bracelet

My Purple Set

I love this brooch.  It is 1950’s and has a small safety chain and pin.  The earings and brooch were bought from Diane Ashman at Antiques for Everyone as she had bought them together.  I found the ring at the same fair from a different exhibitor and the bracelet is a modern one from Marks and Spencer.  I sometimes add 2 rows of aurora borealis to this set to match the stones in the brooch.

This purple set is wonderful with neutral tones as it really stands out.  The brooch also looks good on a red jacket.

purple

The simple blue dress from the summer wedding also looks good with this set.  You can see why I was so delighted with that dress.

Emerald

The emerald coloured and diamante set is lovely.  I bought the brooch first and wore it with pearls as an emerald green accent on a grey blue jacket.  The clip earings were bought on line from a site that sadly is no longer trading and the bracelet from a vintage fair.  It took a couple of years to put this set together.

Emerald and diamante

I inherited this diamante necklace and you can see that it has bright and matte stones.  You can imagine how delighted I was to find this brooch which also has bright and matte stones.  So by adding simpler earings to the plain diamante here, another set is created.  I wear this usually with a black cocktail dress that shows off the colours.  It is useful to have extra brooches to use to adorn a simple evening bag.  Once you start to use your imagination there are so many possibilities.

Always think:

  • What will this go with?

  • What do I have already that will make a set?

Tuquoise

This lovely turquoise brooch and earrings were bought together although they do not really match.  However the seller had bought them together.  I love to feel I am carrying on the set that someone else created.  The texture on the brooch is interesting and the purple stones on the earings have enabled me to wear my purple bracelet with this set on occasion.

Turquoise and gold bracelet

This modern Celtic style knot bracelet goes well with the brooch.

Tuquoise add pearls

My Turquoise and Pearl Set – roll on Summertime when I can wear you

I wear this with 2 or 3 rows of pearls and the Napier twist bracelet on my left wrist in the S/S with a neutral outfit that shows off the colours perfectly.

The size, shape and style of handbags work into this too. Different sets of jewellery compliment different bags.  I have particular bags that I always wear with specific sets, for example the bag may have a lovely gold clasp that echoes the shape or style of a gold brooch.  Balance comes into it as well.  Using your mirror, preferably a full length one you get to know what other accessories will offset the jewellery you have chosen.  It will make quite simple clothes look wonderful, and take care your other accessories are in tune and keep a good balance.

Evening mix

I found these amazing earings at the NEC last summer from Simply Decorous.  The pearls link them to my pearl necklace and bracelets.  This is a set for special parties and times when I want to feel extremely glamorous.

Day Pearls

Simple pearl studs make it into a day set for a lunch date.

Pearls and  sc brooch

This Sarah Coventry brooch is lovely.  It has an interesting texture and a pearl, so making it a gold accent in this set.

Day pearls 2

Look at the 1980’s earings.  They are unusual and go with this bow brooch that has a sort of pave finish.  I often look for brooches that are not too heavy to wear on the right shoulder of a top.

Having read that Queen Mary used to have her dresses reinforced with buckram to make them strong enough for her to wear her many jewels, I started to think how can I wear a brooch on thinner, lighter fabric?  The solution to this problem that I came up with is to put an oval cotton wool pad under the place I will pin on the brooch and then pin through it.  It really works!  I have been able to wear some of the larger more elaborate brooches this way on summer jackets and tops.  You are not limited to the lapel of a winter wool coat.

sphinx brooch with pearls

This Sphinx brooch links to a blue jacket or an outfit with shades of pink

Trfari necklet and earings

This set is made up of a Trifari necklace and earings that compliment each other with added bracelets.  I put this together to give me an alternative set to wear with a dressy red satin blouse from the 1980’s.

761 - Copy

I had worn this blouse with the diamante set, drop earings and wide cuffs at Christmas 2014 for some extra sparkle.

Trifari necklet,earings and brooch

This lovely Trifari brooch has a similar texture to the necklace and looks great worn together or to decorate a plain handbag.

Trifari necklet,earings and brooch - Copy

I am waiting for a pair of Trifari knot earings that will match this brooch that I ordered this week.  When they arrive I will be off making more sets -sheer bliss.

trifari mix

The Trifari black enamel, gold and diamante earings go with the bracelet, add the pearls and here is a marvellous evening set to wear with a black pencil skirt and cream top.  All I need now is a dinner date.

Trifari Earings and bracelet

This is my favourite Trifari bracelet with a pair of pearl and gold earings, also by Trifari.  The texture on the bracelet and the texture on the branches of the earings go together and look superb .  For me, dear Reader, happiness really is creating jewellery “sets”.  Laying out the pieces of jewellery, trying different groupings, working out what matches and tones and looking at other accessories too.  Finding that combination that will make the clothes I have chosen to wear look wonderful .

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thank you to my Husband, Glenn for taking my photographs, with such care.

I hope that these two posts will give you some ideas, to go and look into your collection of jewellery and try out beautiful pieces together.

Treasure hunting is immensely satisfying .  Do share your stories with me, I would love to know how you have got on.

Thank you for visiting Gloriously Vintage.

About Gloriously Vintage

My name is Elizabeth. I am so thrilled to be learning how to write a blog about my adventures collecting vintage treasures. This new adventure is to mark my 60th Birthday this February in 2016 and to start this decade with something new. I have been collecting Powder compacts, 1950's costume jewellery, vintage handbags, silk scarves, vintage umbrellas and hats for over five years now. I try to wear and use as much of my collections as possible. This has added great enjoyment to my life! As a child my "best game " was always dressing up. I kept all my dressing up clothes in a large wooden banded trunk in the spare bedroom -the third bedroom. Creating outfits and characters, wearing jewellery always with a handbag and a powder compact I would play on my own for hours. Most of my treasures then came from jumble sales and bric a brac shops browsed with my parents on holiday. Life has a way of coming round full circle. In my fifties I found increasing joy in being able to just be myself and adopt the hairstyle I wanted and the vintage look that suited me. I source all my "top clothes" from Oxfam on line and charity shops Mixing new tops, shoes and sometimes handbags with my vintage accessories has given me a signature style that is unique. I have always tried to be an individual and not follow the crowd. I find most of my collections at vintage fairs, charity shops and going to Antiques for Everyone at the NEC has been a marvellous time for hunting out treasures and learning more about the things that have sparked real passion for me.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Treasure Hunting in Stratford upon Avon | Gloriously Vintage

  2. Endlessly beautiful sets. I adore that you wove some contemporary pieces, like the Celtic inspired bracelet, into the mix, too. Vintage appropriate jewelry, accessories and fashions are such a marvelous way to expand one’s old school wardrobe (and jewelry box! :)).

    Many hugs,
    ♥ Jessica

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you Jessica, I do agree with you – it is great fun try new mixes. When I am sometimes feeling a bit down I get out my jewellery and try out new sets. My spirits soon lift! Best wishes , Elizabeth xx

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

