RSS Feed

IMG_0816_crop

Welcome! Thank you for visiting Gloriously Vintage.

 

“Alwaysbe a first rate version of yourself, instead of a second-rate version of somebody else”.   Judy Garland

About Gloriously Vintage

My name is Elizabeth. I am so thrilled to be learning how to write a blog about my adventures collecting vintage treasures. This new adventure is to mark my 60th Birthday this February in 2016 and to start this decade with something new. I have been collecting Powder compacts, 1950's costume jewellery, vintage handbags, silk scarves, vintage umbrellas and hats for over five years now. I try to wear and use as much of my collections as possible. This has added great enjoyment to my life! As a child my "best game " was always dressing up. I kept all my dressing up clothes in a large wooden banded trunk in the spare bedroom -the third bedroom. Creating outfits and characters, wearing jewellery always with a handbag and a powder compact I would play on my own for hours. Most of my treasures then came from jumble sales and bric a brac shops browsed with my parents on holiday. Life has a way of coming round full circle. In my fifties I found increasing joy in being able to just be myself and adopt the hairstyle I wanted and the vintage look that suited me. I source all my "top clothes" from Oxfam on line and charity shops Mixing new tops, shoes and sometimes handbags with my vintage accessories has given me a signature style that is unique. I have always tried to be an individual and not follow the crowd. I find most of my collections at vintage fairs, charity shops and going to Antiques for Everyone at the NEC has been a marvellous time for hunting out treasures and learning more about the things that have sparked real passion for me.

2 responses »

  1. I’m so excited to have found your blog. I’m 38 and love seeing ladies 40 and up sporting vintage

    Like

    Reply
    • Dear Katherine, I am delighted you have enjoyed my blog and thank you so much for taking time to comment on my posts. As I am very new to all this making new friends who have fantastic blogs is wonderful! Best wishes, Elizabeth xx

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

